ADOPT / DOGS / ROGER

SAY HELLO TO

Roger

  • AGE
    4 years 1 month
  • GENDER
    Male
  • COLOR
    Tan
  • SIZE
    Small
  • BREED
    Dachshund, Standard Smooth Haired/Mix
  • LOCATION
    Golf Meacham PetSmart

Interested in meeting Roger?

Complete adoption application or email us at dogs@almosthomefoundation.org to learn more or to arrange a meeting.

APPLY NOW LEARN ABOUT THE ADOPTION PROCESS

About Roger

Hello there. My name is Roger and I am looking for my forever home. I had a family in Alabama but then one day, they moved away and left me behind. I don't know why. Was I not good enough? Loving enough? Deserving enough? Luckily a neighbor contacted a local rescue to help me out. Then I heard that another rescue, Almost Home Foundation, wanted to bring me up to Illinois so I could have a better chance at finding a new home. So I spent many hours in the back of a truck with lots of other dogs. Once I arrived, there were lots of volunteers who wanted to help me. I am now in a temporary home with two caring foster parents and two doggy foster sisters. Oh, to feel loved again!

Now let me tell you a bit about myself. I am a pretty mellow fellow. My favorite pastime is napping on the couch. After a couple weeks my foster parents found out that I am a total love-bug. I love to be petted and will nudge your hand if you stop. I might even cuddle up next to you and give kisses if you let me. Total cuteness overload! I am housebroken and not destructive so there is no need to crate me. My foster parents trust me so much that they let me stay in the living room when they are not home. I have been on walks around the neighborhood and I am a good little walker. I don't move real fast but I do get a little excited when I see squirrels or other small critters. I am currently 27 pounds and the vet said that is a good weight for me. And while I am not a non-shedding dog, I do have short hair so I won't shed much (translation: less cleaning for you!). I even let my foster mom clip my nails without a struggle!

Ok, now for my "quirks." I am a bit on the shy side so new situations make me nervous. Sometimes I also get startled by unexpected movements, if I am approached too fast, or if someone tries to pick me up. For the first few days I was in my foster home, I barely moved from the back doormat. Even once I decided to move away from the mat, I didn't seem to want to walk on the wood floor. Luckily my foster parents laid out a nice path of towels and blankets for me to walk on. I think I am getting the hang of walking on wood floors so I asked my foster mom to take away some of the towels. The more time I spend in my foster home, the more comfortable and outgoing I become. So I know I will be able to adjust to living a new forever home.

Because of my timid nature, I have been labeled a "flight risk." So what does that mean? Well, it means that my humans must be very careful around doors and getting in or out of cars because if I get spooked I might run. When I go to a new place, it is extra important that I am leashed when in the house or backyard so there is something for you to grab if I start to go someplace I shouldn't. Even once I am comfortable, all outdoor time needs to be supervised and I should be watched around doors so I don't slip out (but that's the case for all dogs, really, not just me). On outings, my foster mom uses two leashes, one attached to a no-slip collar and one to my regular collar or harness. Just in case something happens to one leash, there is always a back-up. It seems like a bit much but it is better to be safe than sorry. I'm just glad that she cares so much to do this for me. So, will I always be a "flight risk"? I asked my foster mom and she said that she doesn't have a crystal ball to be able to predict that but she hopes that my forever family will do what it takes to keep me safe.

So, what is my ideal forever home? Well, it would be a nice, quiet place with very patient people who are willing to give me as much time as I need to adjust to my new home. I am not an "insta-dog" who will immediately take to a new family. I need time to warm up to new people and places. I would like to live in a home with another dog who can help me become a good pack member and show me what its like to be a normal, confident dog. While I seem to like everyone I meet, I would probably do best in a home with adults and older children. I'm afraid that always being around the younger ones all the time would be too much for my shy self.

Are you interested in learning more about me? Email dogs@almosthomefoundation.org or come meet me at an adoption show.


Almost Home Foundation's adoption requirements:
(1) Be at least 21 years of age;
(2) Have the consent of all adults living in the household;
(3) Have approval from the residence owner;
(4) Have valid ID with current address;
(5) Be approved by Almost Home Foundation as a suitable adoptive home; and
(6) Live in the Greater Chicago Land area.
*** Please note that Almost Home Foundation accepts only cash or checks for adoption fees; we do not accept debit or credit cards. ***